What is intuition?

I’m pretty sure I don’t know. Which perhaps means I don’t have any. Or at least I don’t recognise it as such.

It’s funny, it’s something I feel I lack. Yet when I take those silly personality tests, I always end up as intuitive, not sensing.

It may be a matter of dishonesty with myself, and a pedastalising of intuition. Which doesn’t make sense, because sensation is one of my ‘big deals’.

So what is intuition?

I think it’s supposed to be this idea of internal or innate knowledge. It’s what people like to think of as instincts, hunches and gut feelings. It’s not brain knowledge, it’s body knowledge. (So I wonder why Myers-Briggs opposes it to sensation?).

I think it’s an idea that people like, but in fact it’s just when the brain works quicker than we can justify it. It’s the unconscious decisions that we make without thinking through in a logical sense.

It’s just fast thought. Faster than the internal monologue. The things you justify later. Perhaps having an idea of intuition is just a way of not having to account for our decisions. We don’t have to justify a decision we made on a gut feeling. This is reinforced in cop shows, where the obviously wrong police commissioner tells the maverick (cf. illogical) law enforcer that he’s not paid to follow up on his hunches.

Maybe the industrial-marketing complex wants us to stay that way. Intuition is praised by the media (and me, apparently, earlier in this text) because it makes us think we’ve had a thought, when in fact we have just been spoon fed. We’ve just done what we were told to do.

If you decide to trust your intuition on something, you’re basically ceding control to your unconscious mind.

Now, there’s gotta be some debate about whether or not that’s a good thing. But it’s worth noting just how suggestible and controllable the unconscious mind is.

Assuming it exists.

Having faith in intuition is possibly a way of either avoiding responsibility, or simply underestimating ourselves. I think a lot of people don’t believe they are intelligent enough to engage with certain things, so they choose to trust a gut instinct instead.

Intuition is just a way out of actually thinking for yourself. The more I think about it, the more I see it as giving into subtle (and unsubtle) marketed means of social control.

Advertising appeals to your gut. It tries to lodge an idea into your brain, so that when it becomes time to make that buying decision, you use your intuition and grab the bottle they’ve told you to. Trust is based on intuition and ‘instinct’.

I’m not certain it’s to be trusted.

You can get a long way with a brain. Should we praise the sacrifice of the brain to the gut? Bearing in mind that the gut is where our food goes to turn into shit.

I don’t think I’ve answered the question, but I maybe made you think.

—–

Illustration by Anna-Kaisa.

About Alabaster Crippens

Joiner of Dots. Player of Games. Unreliable Narrator. Dancing Fool.
This entry was posted in Illustrations by Anna-Kaisa, Questions by Skozl. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

