Today is today – What else can it be? (ie the present moment, today is never yesterday)

Today is, of course, the first day of the rest of your life.

And by inference, it’s the last day of everything that has gone before.

Every day has the potential to be a turning point, and in a very fundamental way, it is. We live precisely upon the axis of what has been and what will be. We are built up of everything that has happened and that we have done, and we create, in the now, exactly what we can be and can do in the future.

It’s important to remember that every second provides a brand new opportunity for a brand new you.

I’m starting to sound like the self help guru version of myself, but really, I’m just trying to trick myself into optimism by some weird form of autohypnosis. I doubt it’ll work. But then, part of me does believe this.

It’s a moment of responsibility. Which kinda makes it depressing when you look back and think about all those moments you didn’t bother to change. You’ve let yourself end up exactly where you are. Nobody to blame but yourself. Here, now.

Except those moments were all then. And you can’t do anything about them now, except learn, move on, and do something NOW.

And you can spend the now dreaming about the future, idealising everything that could be, imagining all the possibilities. Paralysing yourself in fantasy, conjecture and hope.

But that’s not now. You can’t do anything in the future, that hasn’t been built up for on the foundational moment that is now.

Action is trapped in the present. Surrounded by the distorted untruths of memory and dreams.

You don’t ignore them. But you recognise them for what they are. Shadows of the present. Unreal and unreliable.

The I of ego only exists in the now. If it exists at all. Experience is all about perspective. A mind is the now. It’s this angle, this time, looking out (or in, depending on your perspective) and the reality of everything. The universe can only be percieved, as far as we can tell in our current state, through the lens of an instant and a singe point, a single sense of being, existence.

That is you.

That is today.

Today is the position from which you survey the universe. Today is the angle you have on everything ever. Today is a panoramic view of all creation. Except not.

Today is the precise moment you live in. Now is today. There is never another today like today.

And perhaps more threateningly, there is no reliable tomorrow. No reliable yesterday. One has melted away, one might never actually come about, and it certainly won’t be how you picture it if you don’t start to do something about it.

Today is the day we build our tomorrow, and start laying bricks for every day after that.

Life is cumulative. Constantly building up.

In this precise moment you can build something. Anything.

Have a nice today.

Illustration by Anna-Kaisa.

About Alabaster Crippens

Joiner of Dots. Player of Games. Unreliable Narrator. Dancing Fool.
This entry was posted in Illustrations by Anna-Kaisa, Questions by Jimothy. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Today is today – What else can it be? (ie the present moment, today is never yesterday)

  1. Jimothy says:

    Hmmm, some wise words indeed.

    I have found myself paralysed with fantasy, many a time. I think it’s a common thing – it’s nigh on impossible to be truly ‘present’ all the time, short of carrying round a bottle full of acid or doing some intensamundo meditation training (hmmm, I seem to remember doing the latter. Praps I should take that up again)..

    I often find myself reliving past experiences and thinking “If only I’d said blah de blah”, this line would’ve been perfect, why did I text /that/! Not quite as much, but equally destructive, I wonder “What if I did this then that?” “If I said blah de blah..” It helps to prepare for certain situations, but to rehearse exact lines is a bit unnecessary.

    If we are more open to the present moment, more of our internal beauty can shine forth, and the more we do this the stronger it gets. The analyzing mind warps reality to its own wants, thus blocking the natural ebb and flow.

    Cripes, you’ve made me all deep and meaningful(/less) with all these answers. Good job! 🙂 x x

  2. flyingrowan says:

    As well as being unnecessary, preparing things to say in certain situations – beyond the first line of greeting/introduction – can’t be done succesfully because you can’t predict what the other person will say (This is obviously not true of job interviews, hence my terrible job interview history)

    I said the other day that I was going to write about my surroundings and the present moment, to help me be more in touch with the world.

    Alex said he found that doing this distanced himself from the moment. I tried it and he’s right, not only does it distance me, it makes me feel incredibly uncomfortable. I know I can get distracted in the present by obsessing over someone’s body language or the way their eyes look at me, or what colour underwear they might have showing, but that doesn’t mean I’m not IN the present moment, maybe it means I am and I’m just soaking it up like a massive sponge ready to be squeezed out later on.

    I can only really write about something that doesn’t exist – past or future – because I’m not experiencing it, meaning I can be free to bend reality to my own wants using my analytical mind, blocking or opening up what bits of the ebb and flow I feel like.

    I’m not sure what I said was relevant but it made me think. Niceone 🙂

    ALSO I quite often have the very intense feeling that time (my life) is big ball all squashed up at once (I’m not deliberately paraphrasing Dr Who) that events happening now are happening at the same times as things that happened this time last year, or stuff I did when i was 18 happened just now, or things I’m about to do in a weeks time have already happened. I make myself experience the feelings of things I haven’t done yet and can recall events from my past in minute detail. This, even though I have one of the worst memories I’ve ever met.

    and goodbye x

  3. Two thoughts, kinda in response, both from the same TS Eliot poem:

    Would it have been worth while,
    To have bitten off the matter with a smile,
    To have squeezed the universe into a ball
    To roll it toward some overwhelming question,

    and:

    Do I dare
    Disturb the universe?
    In a minute there is time
    For decisions and revisions which a minute will reverse.

    Go read Prufrock. I suspect it’s partly about this.

Leave a Reply

