What do we want?

Not what we think. I think.

And I think most people have an even bigger gap between think they want and what they want than even I think.

Want think want think want think.

We need to survive. We need something to eat, drink and some kind of shielding from the elements.

We want to carry on moving.

Often people think they want to carry on getting as well. I know I’m guilty of it. Wanting more things to be bigger and more. Most things like this are pretty pointless. At least in and of themselves.

I want to simplify my life. Stop being so obsessed with buying things and focus on learning and moving (having said that, the only ‘thing’ I tend to buy is music, which I know I’ll never stop, because it of the way it nourishes me, I think).

This is all very easy and predictable and self-righteous.

It’s pretty damn presumptuous in fact.

Perhaps there’s nothing wrong with wanting things, and I just like the arrogance of hippydom. The holier than thou attitude of a rejection (superficial) of consumerism. Then at the same time I find excuses for my own passions (‘but music is my heart’ and ‘but my clothes are my identity; and they’re all second hand anyway’).

I am justified in my wants, for I can intellectualise.

Bullshit of course.

I think this is a place where it’s dangerous to make generalisations (everywhere is places like that…oops).

What do I want?

Someone to hold, someone to play with (singing, dancing, talking etc). Someone to warm up this bed a little.

I want more music. I wish I could make music, so I wasn’t so reliant on others, but at the same time, I still want that magic of hearing something for the first time and being whisked away.

I want more people to be happy, and more people to learn.

I want a community to raise children in.

I want to have children.

At my most noble, I want everyone to realise that if we stopped wanting so much, maybe each individual would be happier, and we could find a route through the future that wouldn’t kill us all.

Maybe.

I don’t know what we all want though.

I’m guessing warmth, nourishment and company.

That shouldn’t actually be too tricky, if we put our minds to it.

And like I say, if we stopped wanting too much more than that, maybe there’d be enough to go around.

Bloody hippy again.

But I’m right.

Endless want is the primary motivator for consumerist capitalism. The system itself appears to be based on endless demand and endless supply.

It’s time we realised we shouldn’t base our mathematical futures on infinity.

It’s hard to find in nature.

This means we need to stop asking for it. Realise that there’s not an infinite amount of anything, and so we will only be unsatisfied if we want infinitely.

Easier said than done.

But at least think about it.

Illustration by Adam.

About Alabaster Crippens

Joiner of Dots. Player of Games. Unreliable Narrator. Dancing Fool.
This entry was posted in Illustrations by Maria, Questions by Clair. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

